Spring Quintet :: Raven, Raven, Raven

by Jörn

➲ Spring Quintet “Raven, Raven, Raven” ★ Label: Whitelabrecs ★ Released 27 July 2019 ★

Spring Quintet is a collaborative project between renowned musician and Montreal, Canada activist Stefan Christoff and Italian sound artist Matteo Uggeri, as well as musicians Claire Abraham (Cello), Fern O’Dactyl (Violin), Peter Burton (Double Bass) and Will Eizlini (Tabla).

‘Raven, Raven, Raven’ is a longform piece which originates from a live performance at Casa Del Popolo in Montreal, between Christoff and the aforementioned musicians. The ensemble performance was for a benefit show at the Native Friendship Centre and at a later date this was subsequently passed to Milan-based artist Matteo Uggeri, who had previously collaborated with Stefan through their mutual contact Vasco Viviani, owner of Old Bicycle Records. Matteo was tasked with the opportunity to deconstruct, rearrange and rebuild this raw recording as well as to adorn it with additional layers of sounds. Matteo’s own take on the original work took up a new approach to something that was originally live and flowing and once each artist had their own space in which to bring their own separate ideas, they then spent a slow period of regular communication via email during which the project gathered the momentum to eventually achieve the final results which have been beautifully mastered by Ian Hawgood.

Artwork by Chris Day.

01. Raven, Raven, Raven (Part 1) 01:43
02. Raven, Raven, Raven (Part 2) 10:29
03. Raven, Raven, Raven (Part 3) 09:04
04. Raven, Raven, Raven (Part 4) 06:37
05. Raven, Raven, Raven (Part 5) 04:36

Also on robotmafia

Leave a Comment

Mit der Nutzung dieser Seite erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden | This site uses cookies. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are ok with it. Accept Read More