The Phonometrician :: Mnemosyne

by Jörn

➲ The Phonometrician “Mnemosyne” ★ Label: Lost Tribe Sound ★ Released 31 May 2019 ★

The debut album from Mexico City based multi-instrumentalist, film composer and sound preservationist Carlos Morales, who creates under the name The Phonometrician.

‘Mnemosyne’ is an album that asks what memories would sound like if they were captured through sound. At its core, ‘Mnemosyne’ is album built around finger-picked acoustic guitar, somewhat classical or folk styled in nature, yet it’s much more than that. Morales deploys a very specific palette of instrumentation to realize his musical vision, it’s as if the classical guitar is slowly being worn away and devoured by an onslaught of looping, ever-shifting analog sound creatures, scattering for cover when the light hits them directly, continuously eating away at the strings. Much like rifling through the pages of an aged and tattered diary, warm shuffles of vinyl and airy waves tape saturation emerge only to retreat once more into the darker recesses, leaving the psyche grasping wildly to recall the meaning of their existence.

Written and arranged by Carlos Morales • Artwork by João Ruas.

Limited Vinyl: 180 Gram Audiophile Grade Vinyl • Heavyweight Reverse Print Jacket • Hand Numbered Edition of 200.

Limited CD: Glass mastered matte finished CD • Housed in a vertical A5 (148mm x 210mm) size hard cover book • 8 full color pages of artwork by João Ruas • Hand-numbered and limited to 200 editions.

01. We’re Burning 03:38
02. Golden River 03:23
03. You Only Change Names 03:23
04. Here Comes the Storm 05:20
05. They Toll for Thee 05:04
06. Chloe 03:36
07. The Curse (When Memories Fade) 03:02
08. The Run 03:43
09. Lights Off 03:03
10. If I Died Tonight 03:04
11. Poppy Meadows 05:27

Also on robotmafia

Leave a Comment

Mit der Nutzung dieser Seite erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden | This site uses cookies. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are ok with it. Accept Read More