Jon Hassell :: Listening To Pictures (Pentimento Volume 01)

by Jörn

Jon HassellListening To Pictures” ★ Label: Ndeya ★ Released 08 June 2018 ★

Reappearance in a painting of earlier images, forms, or strokes that have been changed and painted over.

First new album in nine years by a musical visionary and hugely influential figure in new music.

Forty years since its creation, Jon Hassell‘s Fourth World aesthetic remains a powerful influence on modern electronic music. Continuing his lifelong exploration of the possibilities of recombination and musical gene-splicing, fragments of performance are sampled, looped, overdubbed and re-arranged into beguiling unexpected shapes.

Hassell applies the painterly technique of ‘pentimento’ to the arrangements, teasing out texture by the overlaying of sound upon sound, or a carefully timed reveal of the delicate bones pinning the frame of a track together.

01. Dreaming 06:08
02. Picnic 05:58
03. Slipstream 02:54
04. Al Kongo Udu 05:12
05. Pastorale Vassant 03:59
06. Manga Scene 05:44
07. Her First Rain 01:38
08. Ndeya 07:06

Also on robotmafia

Leave a Comment

Mit der Nutzung dieser Seite erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden | This site uses cookies. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are ok with it. Accept Read More