Archive for the ‘Selected Releases’ Category

Vortex Rikers :: The Night Is Dark (And Full Of Terrors) EP

Vortex RikersThe Night Is Dark (And Full Of Terrors) EP // Released 25 December 2012.

01. Sunshine (Feat. Naadyn) 03:50
02. Killer 02:36
03. Naadyn – Moon (Vortex Rikers Remix) 03:48
04. Sunshine (Reprise) 02:29
05. ∆AIMON – Current (Vortex Rikers Remix) 04:45
06. No Fear 03:14

Video for Sunshine by Vortex Rikers & Naadyn. Uses footage of “Rose Hobart” by Joseph Cornell.

/ via /

DFRNT :: High Friends In Places EP


DFRNT launches his second EP for his own free netlabel Cut just in time for Christmas.

Taking a dub-style approach to this suggestively titled “High Friends In Places” he presents three tracks, each taking modern dub stylings in a different direction.

Metome :: Cloud EP

Free Cloud EP by Metome via bandcamp // Released 24 December 2012.

Find more outstanding music @ Metome`s Soundcloud page.

Bensnburner :: Splendom

So it’s like the solo album of a bass player and is about how his generation (born in 84) should deal with jazz. The music could be described as a pop album with influences ranging from Miles Davis, Flying Lotus, Portishead and Krautrock.

The Record can be fully streamed and downloaded on

Artwork by Ben Krahl // Video made by David Walter.

King Deluxe Records Presents: Year Two

“Here at King Deluxe HQ we’re thrilled to have survived our second year in existence, and thought we’d celebrate it with another birthday album. This time freely downloadable to all. Along with a batch of brand new originals from our regulars, we also invited a number of talented remixers to take their hand at some of our own personal favorites from 2012.”

Download Link:

Artwork: HR-FM // Animation: Henning M. Lederer.
Music: Option Command – 3000 Clones // Label: King Deluxe.

Nocow :: Gather Strength

Russia’s span-new Bekas label is ready to kick off with the finest LP by St. Petersburg’s Nocow. On board here we have fourteen diverse tunes ranging from obscure techno and kicking house to subtle ambient soundscapes, acid-inspired broken beats and raw analog goodness.

Nocow – Gather Strength // Bekas001 – released 28 November 2012.

Yellow opaque vinyl edition limited to 300 copies is coming in 2013.

Free Tunes: Perverse // Promise One // Venture

Follow Deep Heads on Facebook!

Perverse – Semblance //

Perverse – Sicily //

Promise One – Ferro //

Promise One – Submersive //

Venture – Autumn Sun //

Makoto & Heavy1 :: Waterline

Giving away a collaboration track from Makoto & Heavy1 for celebrating Heavy1’s “Light Upon My Road” single on HE:Digital which is out on 29th Oct.

Steve Blair :: Minutes

“Who is Steve Blair? Little is known about the tight lipped Toronto native, he likes to let his music do the talking and his latest release does exactly that. Despite being a instrumental artist his songs tell a story, they become a soundtrack, his latest release ‘Minutes’ isn’t a album, has 1 too many tracks to be a EP and refuses to conform to a LP, but that is Steve Blair all over. A artist who doesn’t conform to the norm, who’s sound has been compared to a cross between Tycho and Emancipator whilst paying little attention to comparisions around him. He decided to release the album/ep/lp for free…”

Sean Byrd :: Always Was

“With an undeniably cinematic production style, veteran electronic music producer Sean Byrd injects emotion and depth into a new set of genres, simultaneously referencing and abandoning past and current electronic trends. With a delicate, precise sound, Byrd invokes a thick atmosphere of nostalgia for the distant future. Fluttering melodies wash over a monolithic base of pristine low-end frequencies, while hypnotic percussion drives forward with deft command. “Always Was” is an introspective soundtrack. The tension between dark, icy textures, and lush, warm melodies plays out in a beautiful cascade of minimal drum and bass, sedated techno, and deep dubstep tempo excursions. However, genre descriptions can only begin to explain the brilliance and craftsmanship of this timeless piece of modern electronic music.”