Archive for the ‘Cassette’ Category

OGRE :: The Psychic Zero

OGREThe Psychic Zero” ★ Label: Self-released ★ Released 27 July 2016 ★

Inspired by the short story ‘The Zone Of Terror’ by J. G. Ballard.

After a nervous breakdown, Larsen retreats to a desert resort under the care of psychologist Bayliss. A series of psychoretinal hallucinations begin to evolve, induced by Bayliss’ course of psilocybin treatment; the spectres of translucent men walk amongst the uninhabited chalets, as Larsen falls outside of time.

Kiyoko :: The Stone Tapes Volume. 1

KiyokoThe Stone Tapes Volume. 1” ★ Label: Self-released ★ Released 26 August 2016 ★

The Stone Tapes is a collection of tracks that Kiyoko have been working on together & individually over the past few years. The album has a similar flow to a film soundtrack & moves between several different styles but ambient is the key.

All tracks written, produced & recorded by Jack Lever & Joe McBride between 2010-2016.

Repeated Viewing :: Art Imitates

Repeated ViewingArt Imitates” ★ Label: Spun Out Of Control ★ Rel. 08 August 2016 ★

Cues from and inspired by the short film ‘Art Imitates’, a darkly satirical look at the compromises and sacrifices one actress decides to make to achieve her own Hollywood ending. Scored by Glaswegian composer Alan Sinclair – aka Repeated Viewing – this film score showcases a more ambient and minimalist side to his electronica-based musical palette, that reflects the dream-like nature of the short and, in turn, makes for absolutely perfect late night listening!

Whilst Side A of this tape release on Spun Out Of Control is music used in the film, Side B is composed of tracks recorded at the same time and in the same vein that did not make the final cut. For completeness these ‘bonus tracks’ are included here as being perfect musical bedfellows.

Composed, produced & performed by Repeated Viewing, 2016.

Specially commissioned artwork unique to this release by Eric Adrian Lee.

Tom Hartney & Swept :: The Forms

Tom Hartney & SweptThe Forms” ★ Label: Insight Music ★ Released 27 June 2016 ★

The latest release by Tom Hartney & Swept features atmospheric, uplifting and heart warming vibes that are perfect for these light evenings. An EP which has taken the artists months to produce, is finally unveiled.

This EP is available to purchase in stunning limited edition white cassette, featuring the exclusive tape only release ‘Solemn Nights’ • Edition of 100.

OGRE & Dallas Campbell :: All Hallows’

OGRE & Dallas CampbellAll Hallows’” ★ Label: Spun Out Of Control ★ Rel. 24 June 2016 ★

All Hallows’ is a full length studio album by Robin Ogden (OGRE) and Dallas Campbell. Dissecting the vocabulary of 70’s and 80’s horror soundtracks, All Hallows’ recaptures the acoustic fingerprint of an era where the synthesiser was the keystone of film scoring. Plotted around an original horror story set to thrill and enhance the cinematic drama of the music – printed on the fold out j-card with the cassette edition and also provided as a downloadable PDF with the digital version – the album is a conceptual journey into fear of the unknown.

The prose trepans into the 1980’s horror tradition; as we set down the score to the greatest horror film that never was, we bring you the cinema of the imagination with a story that traverses the legacy of classic slasher flicks – unadulterated by bad acting. Combine both at once to create an active listening experience, let the music take you paragraph by paragraph to a chilling evening on the outskirts of town…

Fear the music, not the listening!

Airøn Kølarøw :: Saitama EP

Airøn KølarøwSaitama EP” ★ Label: Soigne Tes Oreilles ★ Released 18 May 2016 ★

“Having make his muscles on the side of the dancefloors, young German producer Airøn Kølarøw gives us 3 tracks in a japanese atmospheric style flavoured with Ambient Trap. Special experience guaranteed: the tracks start at the foot of Mount Fuji temple and takes us much further.”

Handmade limited tape series available.

Robert Heel :: Naihehe

Robert HeelNaihehe” ★ Label: Etoka Records ★ Rel. 09 May 2016 ★ Design: Ewald Bone ★

Naihehe” is inspired by huge caves around the world. Enormous echo spaces, cavernous spaces, versatile reverberation, natural surroundings and heavily modified sound and field recordings: from slowed down bat sounds to water and wind in caves to clicks, noises and slipping rocks.

Cobalt Rabbit :: Isolationist EP

Cobalt RabbitIsolationist EP” ★ Label: Insight Music ★ Released 11 April 2016 ★

Isolationist‘ is the title of the long awaited EP by Florida based producer Cobalt Rabbit. Recorded over the 2 months from December 2015 – February 2016, Cobalt Rabbit has produced one of the most influential EP’s to date, using his creative skills within sound design to create a journey of euphoric atmospheric beauty.

Available to purchase in stunning limited edition white cassette, featuring the exclusive tape only release ‘Soma’. Edition of 200.

axion117 :: One Thousand Horizon

axion117One Thousand Horizon” ★ Label: Cold Busted ★ Releases 14 June 2016 ★

From Utsunomiya, Japan – a place previously famed for its delicious gyoza – comes the equally tasty beat concoctions of producer Axion117. Also known by Sato Shuya, this disciplined rhythmologist has dropped releases for Collective Resonance, Expansions Collective, and Mellow Orange and is now revealing One Thousand Horizon, a nineteen track long-player for the Cold Busted label.

These sample-built constructions swing and shimmy with the best in instrumental hip hop, showcasing intricate cuts and melodic intervals that’ll bring the heads into a nodding state of smoked-out bliss. One Thousand Horizon is the perfect soundtrack for a hazy afternoon.

Neozaïre :: Apothecary Dream

➲ Neozaïre “Apothecary Dream” ★ Label: Noorden ★ Released 25 February 2016 ★

Five tracks between trippy electronica, dreamy ambient, field-recordings and spaced-out guitars.

Music & archival scans D’Evoé • Mastered by Manes at SALZ Mastering • Design by Alex Ketzer.

Limited Edition Cassette & Digital.